Hilux '98 ... rear main engine seal repair :( advice please

<<

afroshane

City Slicker

Post Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:12 pm

Hilux '98 ... rear main engine seal repair :( advice please

hi everyone

i unfortunely noticed yesterday that my rear main engine seal is leaking. i have a 98 hilux diesel.

i am looking at starting to do work on my car myself, as i am interested in it. i am no mechanic but im not afraid to look at something new and give it a go. i have a bit of cash saved up and want to buy a few tools (plus grab some of dads).

basically what i am leading too..... is changing this seal a massive job (taking out the transmission, fly wheel etc)? is this task a bit big for a beginner?

at this point in time i am keen to give it a go, but please help me make a decision.

cheers
shane
<<

GOM

CEO GOMipedia International

Post Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:20 pm

prob would pay to do the clutch as well while your at it
Joe wrote: WA is probably my favourite state of all as it has everything. Gorgeous coastlines, towering forests, deserts, gorges and all of it without the population burden that suffocates much of the east coast.

<<

digger_24

Dirt Road Driver

Post Tue Oct 27, 2009 8:24 pm

You never learn anything if you never do it

ive been workin on cars for a while now and everyday i did something new so give it a go u have nothing to lose

but like GOM said do a clutch at the same time and get the flywheel machined aswell

i recommend a excedy clutch a bit more expensive but worth the money and a flywheel machine will eliminate any clutch shudder

but with the gearbox just take ur time and remember what goes where and u should be fine and the rear main is easy to do just dont mark the crank as it will cause the rear main to fail again

but r u sure it rear main and not tappet cover/head/sump or a hose just something to look at
96 cruiser ute
33 inch muddies
turbo 12psi (105rwhp)
3 inch exhaust
3 inch lift
arb air compressor
rear locker
front mount intercooler
<<